Editorial Team

Editorial and Advisory Boards

The Editorial and Advisory Boards of the Journal of Historical Network Research are composed of scholars who have previously published in the field of historical network research, covering all of the main historical periods, from antiquity and the mediaeval period to (early) modern and contemporary history. The Advisory Board consists of noted scholars and internationally renowned experts from both the historical sciences and neighbouring disciplines (e.g. archaeology, social, political and economic sciences, digital humanities and computer science), whose task will be to ensure the academic quality of publications.

Christian Rollinger
University of Trier
Editor Ancient History

Clemens Beck
Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Editor Medieval History

Cindarella Petz
IEG - Leibniz-Institut für Europäische Geschichte

Ingeborg van Vugt
Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
Editor Modern History

Marten Düring
University of Luxembourg
Editor Contemporary History


Advisory Board

Wim Broekaert
University of Ghent

Giovanni Ruffini
Fairfield University

Frederik Elwert
Ruhr University Bochum

Luca De Benedictis
Università di Macerata

Paul McLean
Rutgers University

Tobias Winnerling
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

Emily Erikson
Yale University

Henning Hillmann
University of Mannheim

Nick Crossley
University of Manchester

Lothar Krempel
Max-Planck-Institute for the Study of Societies (ret.)

Malte Rehbein
University of Passau

Antske Fokkens
University of Amsterdam (VU)

Kimmo Elo
University of Helsinki

Diane Cline
The George Washington University

Anna Collar
Aarhus University

Tom Brughmans
University of Oxford

Johannes Preiser-Kapeller
Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW)

Charles van den Heuvel
University of Amsterdam

Claire Lemercier
French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)

Christophe Verbruggen
University of Ghent

Linda von Keyserlingk
Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr Dresden

Matthias Bixler
University of Zurich

Susie J. Pak
St. John’s University

Martin Grandjean
Lausanne University

Robert Gramsch-Stehfest
University of Jena

Richard Engl
University of Munich